Bellator season 6 middleweight semifinals set following BFC 61

Written by: Keith Mills

The season 5 HW tournament finals were postponed a week butfour fighters advanced in Bellator’s season 6 middleweight tournament and thesemifinals brackets are set following BFC 61 Friday night.  The event took place at the Riverdome atHorseshoe Casino and Hotel in Bossier City, LA with a main card broadcast onMTV 2 and an undercard webstreamed on

The middleweight semifinals will take place at BFC 66 in April 20th, the eventin Cleveland that will also hold the rematches of both Eddie Alvarez vs. ShinyaAoki and Jessica Eye vs. Aisling Daly. 

Strikeforce vet Brian Rogers remains an odds favorite as his only loss in hislast nine fights was to season 2 and 5 tournament champion AlexanderShlemenko.  On this night Rogers was theonly fighter in the quarters to finish an opponent, knocking out Vitor Viannain the first round furthering his hype. At BFC 66 Rogers will face Bruno Santos, the undefeated but relatively unknownBrazilian who this night handed Giva “the Arm Collector” Santana his secondloss in nineteen fights by decision. 

The other tournament favorite Maiquel Falcao was known for his UFC win butafter this show will be remembered more for this win over Norman Paraisy.  Falcao wisely used leg kicks and taggedParaisy with rights as he cruised to a decision, scoring the second ever winover the French fighter.  Falcao willlikely have a harder time against 16-1 but relatively unknown VyacheslavVasilevky who this night extended his win streak to fifteen fights with a moreexciting if closer decision over Victor O’Donnell. 

Next up is BFC 62 from Laredo, TX which features the quarterfinals of thelightweight tournament.  The welterweighttournament begins at BFC 63 March 30th and the featherweight quarterfinals tookplace last weekend at BFC 60, the start of season 6. 

BFC 61 results:

Trey Houston def.Jeremiah Riggs 3:30 R1 by armbar
Jason Sampson def. Jeremy Myers 2:25 R3 by rear-naked choke
Derrick Krantz def. Eric Scallan 3:01 R1 by brabo choke
MW tournament: Brian Rogers def. Vitor Vianna 4:14 R1 by KO
MW tournament: Bruno Santos def. Giva Santana by unanimous decision
MW tournament: Vyacheslav Vasilevsky def. Victor O’Donnell by unanimousdecision
MW tournament: Maiquel Jose Falcao Goncalves def. Norman Paraisy by unanimousdecision
Josh Quayhagen def. Brent Taylor by unanimous decision